The Eugène Delacroix Museum is dedicated to the work of one of the most famous French artists. Delacroix first occupied the building in 1857, using it as his workshop. When he died in 1863, the building was passed around to different owners, and the studio was almost destroyed in the 1920s. However art historians, collectors and painters banded together to save the studio by renting it.
Starting in 1932, they organized exhibitions and other events there and in 1952 the group of artists and art lovers purchased the building outright. In 1954, the building was given to the French government, which agreed to create a proper museum for Delacroix and this was finally achieved in 1971.
Thanks to that committed group of Delacroix admirers, guests staying at the Hôtel de la Tour Maubourg can now enjoy the works of the great artist within the environment in which he created them. In this artistic spirit, the Musée Delacroix has now opened its workshop to the contemporary artist Vincent Copret. From July 5 until July 15, 2014 Copret will be finishing a major work within the walls of the museum. Then, until August 31, 2014 the finished painting will be displayed in the museum.
Copret’s work seeks to challenge the art world’s relationship with master painters. Therefore, it is ironically appropriate that he should take on the workshop of Eugène Delacroix, one of France’s master painters. As a result, the worlds of romantic art and contemporary art combine in this unique and organic way. This makes Vincent Copret’s appearance at the Musée Delacriox a must-see for anyone interested in art history.